HCC Student Athletes Receive Arrowhead Conference Academic Excellence Awards

FREEPORT, ILLINOIS — Thirty-four Highland Community College student-athletes were named to the 2018-2019 Arrowhead Conference Academic Excellence Team. Academic Excellence selections must have completed at least 12 credit hours per semester while achieving a 3.00 grade point average or above.

“It is always exciting to announce the recipients of the Arrowhead All-Academic team and once again the 2018-2019 Highland Cougars are well represented,” said Pete Norman, Athletic Director for Highland Community College. “All eight of Highland athletic programs were selected. We are always proud of our teams athletic successes, but the accomplishments in the classroom is most rewarding.”

Woman’s Basketball: Lakeita Chappel, Florissant, MO; Dejah Malveaux, St. Louis, MO; Naomi McKenzie, London, England; Mya McKenzie, London, England

Women’s Bowling: Elizabeth Barton, Maple Park; Mackenzie Kavanaugh, Dixon; Kelsey Kruse, Freeport

Volleyball: Courtney Haas, Stockton; Keileigh Kloepping, Forreston; Allison Kultgen, Byron; Kate Metzger, Forreston; Makenzie Robieson, Orangeville; Allison Weegens, Lena

Softball: Kelsey Bollon, Orangeville; Hannah Holland, Orangeville; Abigail Husemann, East Dubuque; Emma Kinney, Dakota; Emma Lindenmeyer, Amboy; Kendra Melville, Pearl City; Macayla Pilson, Pearl City; Makenzie Robieson, Orangeville

Men’s Bowling: Bailey Luy, Freeport; Matthew Pfeiffer, Freeport

Men’s Basketball: Luka Barisic, Osijek, Croatia; Carter Budenz, Freeport; Ziga Habat, Ljublijana, Slovenia; Marlon Ruffin, Sun Prairie, WI; Vuk Stevanic, Jagodina, Serbia

Golf: Javier Jazo, Freeport; Jonathon Silvers, Byron

Baseball: Bryce Carlson, Freeport; Joshua Flick, Forreston; Josue Ortiz, Carolina, Puerto Rico; Hunter Rhineberger, Brooksville, FL; Cameron Timm, Forreston

Freeport News Network

Broadcast news, stories and entertainment for Stephenson County

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *