Andrew Chesney Sworn-In To 101st General Assembly

FREEPORT, ILLINOIS — State Representative Andrew Chesney (R-Freeport) was sworn in to his first full term in the Illinois House of Representatives on Wednesday during the inauguration of the 101st General Assembly held at the University of Illinois-Springfield’s Sangamon Auditorium.

“It’s my sincere honor and privilege to be sworn-in to represent the 89th District in the Illinois House and it’s a responsibility I don’t take lightly,” said Chesney. “I am hopeful that we can move forward in a bipartisan manner, not as Democrats and Republicans, but as reform-minded public servants working to improve the quality of life for all Illinois residents. My approach is to carefully look at each bill and support those that benefit Northwestern Illinois taxpayers and residents.”


Among family and friends joining Chesney in Springfield for the Inaugural Ceremony were local elected officials, including Freeport Mayor Jodi Miller and Stephenson County Board Chairman Bill Hadley.

Prior to his service in the Illinois House, Chesney was an elected member of the Freeport City Council, where he built a reputation as a strong advocate for more funding for public infrastructure, blight reduction, and law enforcement. His fiscally conservative record as well as a reputation as a taxpayer watchdog was well earned in local government. He was active in pushing for streamlining and improving city services and changing city policies that promote healthy economic and community development and property improvements.

The House of Representatives of the new 101st General Assembly is comprised of 74 Democrats and 44 Republicans. Representative Michael J. Madigan of Chicago was re-elected Speaker of the House for another two-year term. Representative Jim Durkin of Western Springs was re-elected Minority Leader.

89th District residents can learn more about legislation sponsored by Rep. Chesney during the Spring legislative session at his website at

Brian Stewart was also sworn in Wednesday as state senator for the 45th District of Illinois. The 45th District represents parts of Carroll, DeKalb, Jo Daviess, LaSalle, Lee, Ogle, Stephenson, Whiteside and Winnebago counties.


Leave a Reply