Petitions Available For Two Positions On HCC Board of Trustees

Freeport, Illinois – On April 2, 2019, Highland Community College District residents will elect two people to serve six-year terms on the seven-member HCC Board of Trustees. Potential candidates must follow several steps in order to be placed on the ballot.

The first step is circulating and filing nominating petitions with the secretary to the board of trustees during the filing period. These petitions are available at Highland Community College in the office of the secretary to the board of trustees, located in room H-231 on the second floor of the Student/Conference Center at 2998 West Pearl City Road, Freeport, Ill. The petitions may be picked up Monday through Friday, from 8 a.m. — noon and 1 p.m. — 5 p.m.

In order to be eligible to serve, a candidate must be a citizen of the United States, at least 18 years old, a registered voter, and a resident of the State of Illinois and the Highland Community College District for at least one year immediately preceding the election. A Statement of candidacy must accompany nominating petitions. Certification that a Statement of Economic Interest has been filed with the Stephenson County Clerk’s Office must be submitted by the end of the filing period. The filing period will be December 10 – 17, 2018, from 8 a.m. — 5 p.m.

All petitions filed by people waiting in line at 8 a.m. on the first day of filing, December 10, 2018, petitions received in the first mail delivery on the December 10, and two or more petitions filed within the last hour of the filing deadline (4 p.m. — 5 p.m.) on December 17, 2018, are considered filed simultaneously.

In order to determine placement on the ballot for petitions filed simultaneously, a lottery will be held on December 18, 2018, at 8:30 a.m. in the Robert J. Rimington Board Room (room H-228) in the Student/Conference Center on the Highland Community College campus. Due to the campus being closed December 24, 2018, through January 1, 2019, the objection period for petitions will be December 18 – 21, 2018, and January 2, 2019.

Leave a Reply